The Letter

The Letter Author Richard Paul Evans
ISBN-10 9780684842837
Year 1997
Pages 352
Language en
Publisher Simon and Schuster
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

David and MaryAnne Parkin find a mysterious letter at the base of their child Andrea's grave that eventually returns joy to their marriage, which had been strained in the nineteen years since her death

The Letter

The Letter Author Sylvia Atkinson
ISBN-10 1477214879
Year 2012-03-07
Pages 332
Language en
Publisher AuthorHouse
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

1985, Yorkshire. 72-year-old Margaret is known in her small Yorkshire village as a former nurse and widow of a local war hero. She expects to spend her remaining days in the comfort of the quiet life she has established. The unopened letter laid carefully on her lap threatens to bring the past rushing back. 1931, Edinburgh. Margaret, a university scholarship girl, falls in love with Ben, an Indian medical student. Forced to choose between him and her strict Catholic family, Margaret leaves her native Scotland for the heat and prejudices of British India. At the mercy of two cultures she becomes caught up in the events of World War Two. The consequences of her journey ripple across the continents and generations, leaving two families unknowingly intertwined.

The Letter and the Cosmos

The Letter and the Cosmos Author Laurence de Looze
ISBN-10 9781442628533
Year 2016-06-27
Pages 288
Language en
Publisher University of Toronto Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The Letter and the Cosmos is a sharp and entertaining examination of how languages, letterforms, orthography, and writing tools have reflected our hidden obsession with the alphabet,

The Letter

The Letter Author Marie Tillman
ISBN-10 9781455505609
Year 2012-06-26
Pages 272
Language en
Publisher Grand Central Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In 2003, Pat Tillman, serving in the US Army, hastily wrote a "just in case" letter to his wife, Marie. When he returned on leave before his departure to Afghanistan, he placed the letter on top of their bedroom dresser. For months it sat there, sealed and ever-present, like a black hole through which Marie knew her stable life would be pulled if she ever had reason to open it. Then, in April 2004, Marie's worst nightmare came true. In the days following his death, it was Pat's letter that kept her going and, more than that, it was his words that would help her learn to navigate a world she could no longer share with her husband. In THE LETTER, Marie's talks for the first time about her journey to remake her life after Pat's death. In it, she recalls meeting and falling in love with Pat when they were kids, his harrowing decision to join the army after 9/11, and the devastating day when she learned he'd been killed. She describes how she withdrew from the public spotlight to grieve, learning along the way the value of solitude, self-awareness and integrity in the healing process. And, finally, Marie recounts her work to rebuild her life, including founding The Pat Tillman Foundation, an organization established to carry forth Pat's legacy of leadership, and her decision to step back into the public eye in order to inspire people to live with meaning and purpose. Filled with the lessons Marie learned and the wisdom she gained since Pat's death, THE LETTER is both a heartrending love story and an inspiring tale for anyone, young or old, whose life has taken an unexpected hard turn -- and who struggles to get back on the right path.

The Letter of James

The Letter of James Author Scot McKnight
ISBN-10 9780802826275
Year 2011-02-21
Pages 497
Language en
Publisher Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Scot McKnight's commentary expounds James both in its own context and in the context of ancient Judaism, the Greco-Roman world, and the emerging Christian faith. --from publisher description

Addressing the Letter

Addressing the Letter Author Laura Anne Salsini
ISBN-10 9781442641655
Year 2010
Pages 190
Language en
Publisher University of Toronto Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Women writers of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Italy reinvigorated the modern epistolary novel through their re-fashioning of the genre as a tool for examining women's roles and experiences. Addressing the Letter argues that many epistolary novels purposely tie narrative structure to thematic content, creating in the process powerful texts that reflect and challenge literary and socio-cultural norms. Through the lens of the genre, Laura A. Salsini considers how the works of authors including the Marchesa Colombi, Sibilla Aleramo, Gianna Manzini, Natalia Ginzburg, and Oriana Fallaci highlight such issues as love, the loss of ideals, lack of communication and connection, and feminist ideology. She also analyses what may be the first woman-authored Italian example of epistolary fiction: Orintia Romagnuoli Sacrati's Lettere di Giulia Willet (1818). In their reworking of the epistolary narrative form, Italian women writers challenged dominant assumptions about female behaviours, roles, relationships, and sexuality in modern Italy.

Observations on the Letter of Monsieur Mariette

Observations on the Letter of Monsieur Mariette Author Giovanni Battista Piranesi
ISBN-10 0892366362
Year 2002
Pages 176
Language en
Publisher Getty Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Published in 1765, Giovanni Battista Piranesi's Osservazioni is an impassioned defense of the superiority of Roman architectural "invention" over the "beautiful and noble simplicity" of ancient Greece. In this three-part polemical masterpiece, the famed engraver and designer not only contends that the Etruscans-not the Greeks-were the artistic mentors of the Romans but also argues for a Roman-inspired exuberance in design that draws freely on all forms and traditions of ancient art. Although Piranesi's essentially Baroque vision set him at odds with the austere Neoclassicism of his contemporaries, his ideas were inspirational to such gifted eighteenth-century architects as Robert Adam, John Soane, Claude-Nicolas Ledoux, and Étienne-Louis Boullée. Today, Piranesi's lively plea for imaginative eclecticism remains topical, as the debate continues over the relative merits of a rational, minimal architecture versus an architecture rich in ornament and historical references.

The Letter to the Hebrews

The Letter to the Hebrews Author William Barclay
ISBN-10 066421312X
Year 1976-01
Pages 202
Language en
Publisher Westminster John Knox Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In The Letter to the Hebrews, noted Scottish Bible interpreter William Barclay follows the formula of the Daily Study Bible by first giving the text of the day's study in his own translation, followed by two or three pages of commentary.

The Letter

The Letter Author Kathryn Hughes
ISBN-10 9781783069170
Year 2015-03-19
Pages 384
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The #1 EBook Bestseller. Every so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Discover THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, the Number One bestseller that has captured thousands of hearts worldwide. Perfect for fans of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. 'A wonderful, uplifting story' Lesley Pearse And if you love THE LETTER, you will adore Kathryn's second novel THE SECRET... Tina Craig longs to escape her violent husband. She works all the hours God sends to save up enough money to leave him, also volunteering in a charity shop to avoid her unhappy home. Whilst going through the pockets of a second-hand suit, she comes across an old letter, the envelope firmly sealed and unfranked. Tina opens the letter and reads it - a decision that will alter the course of her life for ever... Billy Stirling knows he has been a fool, but hopes he can put things right. On 4th September 1939 he sits down to write the letter he hopes will change his future. It does - in more ways than he can ever imagine... The Letter tells the story of two women, born decades apart, whose paths are destined to cross and how one woman's devastation leads to the other's salvation.

To the Letter

To the Letter Author Simon Garfield
ISBN-10 9781592408825
Year 2014-11-04
Pages 464
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

An ode to the dwindling art of letter writing explores its potential salvation in the digital age, chronicling the history of letter writing as reflected by love letters, chain mail and business correspondence while surveying the role that letters have played as literary devices for several centuries. 50,000 first printing.

The Letter of Love and Concord

The Letter of Love and Concord Author Zara Pogossian
ISBN-10 9789004191891
Year 2010-12-20
Pages 475
Language en
Publisher BRILL
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The book presents a comprehensive analysis of the “Letter of Love and Concord.” This revised diplomatic edition based on the study of sixty nine manuscripts, explores its numerous written, material, oral and symbolic sources along with an English translation of this fascinating late 12th century Cilician Armenian text.

The Letter of the Law

The Letter of the Law Author Emily Steiner
ISBN-10 0801487706
Year 2002
Pages 257
Language en
Publisher Cornell University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Scholars have long been aware of the looming presence of law in medieval English literature, from Christ as a litigious redemptor to Chaucer?s deal-making Host in The Canterbury Tales. Most scholarly work on the subject has been confined either to tracking down representations of legal practices in texts or to examining formal questions relating to legal discourse. In a groundbreaking departure, The Letter of the Law suggests that law and literature should be understood as parallel forms of discourse?at times complementary, at times antagonistic, but always mutually illuminating. Emily Steiner and Candace Barrington maintain that medievalists are uniquely placed to make valuable new contributions to the subject of law and literature, in part because of the inherently interdisciplinary nature of the study of medieval law, inseparable as it was from political theory and theology. The editors bring together medievalists from all over North America to explore the development of vernacular English literature within the context of legal discourse, practice, and conflict. Treating texts as varied as Chaucer?s Knight?s Tale, the fifteenth-century Robin Hood ballads, and William Thorpe?s account of his own heresy trial, the nine never-before-published essays in this volume reveal the intersections of legal and documentary culture with vernacular literary production. They establish that law and English literature were intimately bound up in processes of institutional, linguistic, and social change, and they explain how the specific conditions of medieval law and literature offer useful models in studying later periods. An appendix contains a translation by Andrew Galloway of History or Narration Concerning the Manner and Form of the Miraculous Parliament at Westminster in the Year 1386.