Where the Words End and My Body Begins

Where the Words End and My Body Begins Author Amber Dawn
ISBN-10 1551525836
Year 2015-04-01
Pages 96
Language en
Publisher Arsenal Pulp PressLtd
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The first full-length poetry book by the Lambda Literary and Vancouver Book Award Winner. Award-winning writer Amber Dawn reveals a gutsy lyrical sensibility in her debut poetry collection: a suite of glosa poems written as an homage to and an interaction with queer poets,such as the legendary Gertrude Stein, Christina Rossetti, and Adrienne Rich, as well as contemporaries like Leah Horlick, Rachel Rose, and Trish Salah. (Glosas, a 15th-century Spanish form, typically open with a quatrain from an existing poem by another writer, followed by four stanzas of ten lines each, and usually end with a line repeated from the opening quatrain.) By doing so, Amber Dawn delves deeper into the themes of trauma, memory, and unblushing sexuality that define her work.

Sub Rosa

Sub Rosa Author Amber Dawn
ISBN-10 1551523612
Year 2010
Pages 317
Language en
Publisher Arsenal Pulp PressLtd
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A runaway teenager named Little discovers an underground society of ghosts, magicians, and missing girls called Sub Rosa where she finds herself initiated into a family of magical prostitutes and is called upon to lead them out of the darkness.

How Poetry Saved My Life

How Poetry Saved My Life Author Amber Dawn
ISBN-10 1551525003
Year 2013
Pages 156
Language en
Publisher Arsenal Pulp PressLtd
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The author describes, through prose and poetry, her experiences as a prostitute in Vancouver, which nearly destroyed her life, and how she found a new start as an author and poet.

Your Body

Your Body Author Matthew MacDonald
ISBN-10 9780596801748
Year 2009-07-28
Pages 293
Language en
Publisher "O'Reilly Media, Inc."
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Presents an easy-to-read guide on the human body, its major organs and their functions, and common illnesses and diseases.

Milk and Honey

Milk and Honey Author Rupi Kaur
ISBN-10 9781449478650
Year 2015-10-06
Pages 208
Language en
Publisher Andrews McMeel Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Night

Night Author Elie Wiesel
ISBN-10 9780718197810
Year 2012-05-03
Pages 144
Language en
Publisher Penguin UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Born into a Jewish ghetto in Hungary, as a child, Elie Wiesel was sent to the Nazi concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald. This is his account of that atrocity: the ever-increasing horrors he endured, the loss of his family and his struggle to survive in a world that stripped him of humanity, dignity and faith. Describing in simple terms the tragic murder of a people from a survivor's perspective, Night is among the most personal, intimate and poignant of all accounts of the Holocaust. A compelling consideration of the darkest side of human nature and the enduring power of hope, it remains one of the most important works of the twentieth century. New translation by Marion Wiesel, with a new introduction by Elie Wiesel.

Body Rites

Body Rites Author Leah Piepzna-Samarasinha
ISBN-10 1927494508
Year 2015-03-20
Pages 112
Language en
Publisher Mawenzi House/Tsar Publishers
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Bodymap continues Leah's long term meditation on survival and what it means to be a queer woman of colour living in North America, while also striving to document small moments of the body's resistance, memory, and legacy. Bodymap is divided into five sections. Evidence opens with poems that document transformative love and desire through a queer partnership's evolution and dissolution, in complexity and joy. Crip World contains poems exploring sick and disabled queer experience through body stories and small moments. Hard Girls is a mapping of tough femininity in the bodies of the poet, and her lovers and comrades. Wrong Is Not Yours contains the political, from the struggles of friends crossing the border to the choice made in claiming a long Sri Lankan name; this section ends with a series of odes to Toronto. What kind of ancestor do you want to be? The final section, explores ancestry and queer parenting.

This Is Where the World Ends

This Is Where the World Ends Author Amy Zhang
ISBN-10 9780062383068
Year 2016-03-22
Pages 304
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place. Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt. Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

Leviathan

Leviathan Author Thomas Hobbes
ISBN-10
Year 2015-10-06
Pages 540
Language en
Publisher 谷月社
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Leviathan or The Matter, Forme and Power of a Common Wealth Ecclesiasticall and Civil—commonly referred to as Leviathan—is a book written by Thomas Hobbes (1588–1679) and published in 1651 (revised Latin edition 1668). Its name derives from the biblical Leviathan. The work concerns the structure of society and legitimate government, and is regarded as one of the earliest and most influential examples of social contract theory. Leviathan ranks as a classic western work on statecraft comparable to Machiavelli's The Prince. Written during the English Civil War (1642–1651), Leviathan argues for a social contract and rule by an absolute sovereign. Hobbes wrote that civil war and the brute situation of a state of nature ("the war of all against all") could only be avoided by strong undivided government.

For Your Own Good

For Your Own Good Author Leah Horlick
ISBN-10 1927575672
Year 2015
Pages 95
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In the canon of contemporary feminist and lesbian poetry, FOR YOUR OWN GOOD breaks silence. A fictionalized autobiography, the poems in this collection illustrate the narrator's survival of a domestic and sexual violence in a lesbian relationship. There is magic in this work: the symbolism of the Tarot and the roots of Jewish heritage, but also the magic that is at the heart of transformation and survival.These poems are acutely painful, rooted in singular and firsthand experiences. But Horlick also draws from a legacy of feminist, Jewish and lesbian writers against violence: epigraphs from the works of Adrienne Rich and Minnie Bruce Pratt act as touchstones alongside references to contemporary writers, such as Daphne Gottlieb and Michelle Tea.In this reflection on grief, silence and community, we follow the narrator's own journey as she explores what it is to survive, to change, to desire and to hope. At once unflinching and fragile FOR YOUR OWN GOOD is a collection withtransformation at its heart.

With a Rough Tongue

With a Rough Tongue Author Amber Dawn
ISBN-10 1551521938
Year 2005
Pages 153
Language en
Publisher Arsenal Pulp PressLtd
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A rebellious anthology of stories about sex and the modern femme - no holds barred queer sex tales that reinvent lesbian erotica in transgressive and empowering ways. Blunt, hard-hitting stories challenge traditional lace-and-feather notions of gender roles when it comes to getting off.

Into the Wild

Into the Wild Author Jon Krakauer
ISBN-10 9780330469982
Year 2011-07-06
Pages 320
Language en
Publisher Pan Macmillan
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

By examining the true story of Chris McCandless, a young man, who in 1992 walked deep into the Alaskan wilderness and whose SOS note and emaciated corpse were found four months later, internationally bestselling author Jon Krakauer explores the obsession which leads some people to explore the outer limits of self, leave civilization behind and seek enlightenment through solitude and contact with nature. 'an astonishingly gifted writer: his account of 'Alex Supertramp' is powerfully dramatic, eliciting sympathy for both the idealistic, anti-consumerist boy - and his parents' Guardian 'a compelling tale of tragic idealism' The Times

Dirty River

Dirty River Author Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha
ISBN-10 155152600X
Year 2015-09-29
Pages 240
Language en
Publisher Arsenal Pulp PressLtd
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In 1996, poet Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha ran away from America with two backpacks and ended up in Canada, where she discovered queer anarchopunk love and revolution. Through it all, she works her way through the personal and the political of intersectionality as she comes to identify as a mixed-race person and queer femme of colour, as a disabled person grappling with chronic illness (she has suffered from fibromyalgia since 1998) and as an abuse survivor. This passionate and riveting memoir is a mixtape of dreams and nightmares.